RestoreSure 2016 Free100% CLEAN award granted by Softpedia

Free to use!  Supports up to 3 Vista, Windows 7, 8 or 10 computers with no storage or time limits!

Please note: The free version of RestoreSure is supplied 'as is' with no support or warrantees.

Getting Started

To get started, first download the RestoreSure Free installerRestoreSure FreeClick to Download RestoreSure Free (9.01)

When configuring RestoreSure for the first time it is often simplest to install both backup server and workstation components on the same computer (the workstation software will auto-discover the local backup server on startup).

Installing the Backup Server & Client Software

To install the Backup Server software, run the RestoreSure Free installer and choose the 'Install Backup Server and Workstation Components' option.  This option will configure your computer to act as a network backup server and will also install a local workstation client (the agent that actually backs up files).  To install just the workstation agent, choose the 'Install Workstation Only' option (see the section entitled 'Install the client software on other computers' for more information).

Please note - RestoreSure backup repository drives must be formatted on either NTFS or ZFS and the backup server software can be installed on either Windows Workstation or Window Server operating systems.

During the installation process you will be asked to enter a valid email address in order to activate your RestoreSure account and generate product and license keys specific to you.  Following this you will be required to enter your keys when prompted by the setup program.

Firewalls

By default, the RestoreSure installer adds firewall execptions to open required ports.  These rules only apply to the local subnet on 'private' and 'domain' network types.  If RestoreSure client computers fail to connect to your backup server, you may need to relax the local subnet rule (particularly if you have VLANs configured).  For further information, please see the firewall documentation help article.

Backup Server Policy

Once installed, you will be prompted to configure the backup server policy using the RestoreSure Backup Server Manager application.  Server Manager allows you to specify the backup data drive (either local or NAS), general policy settings such as maintenance and email alert options together with the server password and SSL certificate. 

Once configured, click the 'OK' button to save the policy settings and start the server service. 

If the server service fails to start, please check the Windows application event log for error information.

Fig 1. - RestoreSure Backup Server Manager

RestoreSure Backup Server Manager

Installing the Client Software on Other Computers

Run the installer and follow the on-screen instructions when prompted to enter your product key (located within the registration email).

When prompted, select 'Workstation Only' to install just the workstation client software agent (but not the backup server software).  By default, all client features, including the administration tools, will be installed automatically.  If you are using the separate Workstation installer, you can choose to install either just the agent or the agent together with the administration tools.

Once the installation has completed, click the 'Finish' button.  The 'Workstation Manager' application will automatically start to allow configuration of the backup policy.

Configuring the Client Backup Policy

RestoreSure uses individual machine 'policies' to control which folders are backed up on a particular computer.  Other policy settings include global file type filters (allowing selective backup or exclusion of specific types of files) and real-time backup and monitoring options.

The following screenshot shows an example workstation policy within the 'Workstation Manager' application.  To specify one or more folders to backup, click the right-hand box of the 'Folders' option and select the '...' button:

Fig 2. - Client Policy - Browse for folders

Configure folders

To add or remove folders from the policy use the 'Add' and 'Remove' buttons (shown below).

By default, nominated folders (and sub-folders) are monitored in real-time, offering continuous data protected outside of scheduled backup operations. RestoreSure automatically detects changed files and will backup only the bytes that change.  The default delay before changes are transmitted to the backup servers is 2 minutes.

Fig 3. - Add or remove backed-up folder selections

Add or remove folders from watched folders list

Once you have selected a set of folders to backup, click 'OK' then click the 'OK' button in the main 'Workstation Manager' window.  If prompted, select 'Yes' to start the workstation service.

Automatic Backup Server Discovery

When first installed, client computers will attempt to auto-discover suitable LAN-based backup servers using UDP (please see the firewall documentation for UPD requirements).

WAN or Internet-based backup server discovery is via RestoreSure.com (not available in the standard trial version - please contact us if you would like to evaluate backup over Internet or WAN connections).

Note - Auto-discovery may take several minutes to complete on initial install.  When connected to a valid backup server, the client monitor taskbar icon turns from yellow to green (see graphic below).

Monitoring Client Operations

Once connected to a backup server, clients begin backup operations automatically.  To access backup logs, real-time activity messages and the 'Workstation Manager' application on a particular client computer, right-click the RestoreSure taskbar monitor application (shown below) and select an option from the popup menu.

Fig 4. - Workstation Taskbar Monitor Application

Workstation Monitor Taskbar App

Restoring Files & Folders from the Desktop

RestoreSure allows standard users to preview and restore previous version files directly from the desktop without IT department intervention.  Access to data is strictly controlled using original NT file permissions.

To preview and restore previous version files, right-click a folder or file in Windows Explorer and select 'Restore from RestoreSure...'.  You will then be able to browse individual backup snapshots ('sets') or all file versions available ('All Files').  Right-click on a file or folder in the browser application to restore or preview data.

It is also possible to backup files and folders 'on-demand' using the 'Backup to RestoreSure...' context menu option.  You can backup any file or folder you have permission to access using this option, regardless of whether or not that folder is identified in the machine backup policy.

Fig 5 - Desktop Backup & Restore

Backup and restore from Windows Desktop

Administration using the 'RestoreSure Explorer' Application

If you selected the 'All components' option when installing RestoreSure you can use the 'RestoreSure Explorer' application to browse and manage the complete RestoreSure backup space across your organization.

When starting 'RestoreSure Explorer' you are required to login to any available RestoreSure backup servers using a password assigned to each backup server.

Once logged in you can browse all backed-up data regardless of where the data actually resides (RestoreSure allows any number of backup 'servers' to be deployed within an organization).  Right-click on a file or folder in the right-hand folder pane to preview or restore selected items.

RestoreSure Explorer also allows you to manage client and server backup policies remotely.  Right-click on a machine name then select 'Properties...' to change the policy for a particular computer.  To edit more than one policy at once, select either the 'Workstations' tree item or a tree sub-folder and click 'Properties...'.  

To save policy changes, click the 'Save' toolbar button or select 'Save...' from the 'File' menu option.

Fig 6 - RestoreSure Explorer

RestoreSure Explorer